In the Heart of the Sea by Nathaniel Philbrick

heart of the sea

**SPOILERS**

I chose the audio version of this book. I couldn’t wait to go to work every day and start listening! There is so much offering here – tragedy, taboo issues, adventure, happy endings and not so. Even more….this is based on a true story originating in Nantucket, MA. I’m a born New Englander so this was also quite the history lesson about where life was between 150 and 200 years ago. I cringed at how and what the shipmates ate or how little. I couldn’t even imagine subsisting on the very little and sometimes lack of fresh water. I had no idea there would be cannibalism and even reluctant, but consenting cannibalism where a lottery was drawn up to decide who would die to feed the rest of the men. No one was proud to do so and it seems very few survived. Some were driven mad. But apparently there was an irresistible allure to the open waters, despite the dangers. Once stepping aboard it is only assumed that one is in acceptance to a highly possible burial at sea. Or becoming stranded on foreign territory where food and water are unknowns.

It shows me what an absolute wuss I am.  I can’t imagine how they endured storms or violent whale attacks ( but really….you’re there to kill the whales so kinda gotta expect that they won’t be ok with it).

I have not seen the movie yet but I definitely will be. I highly recommend if you want to be lost in a world gone by, this is a great one to fall into.

 

Leave a Reply

